Need a break? Walk a dog!

Need a break in your busy day, or just need a different perspective every now and then? If you answered yes, then you should walk a dog.

Not just for exercise
With two young (3 years old and 2 ½ years old) and energetic dogs in my house, I initially saw our nightly walks as a distraction to my evening activities. I had email to read and reply to, new email to compose, product ads to post, a website to maintain, phone calls to make etc. and having to switch gears and strap on leashes , grab a supply of poop bags, my cell phone, and then get dragged out the door with two excited dogs. It may be needed exercise for them but it was a nightly chore for me. Until I started noticing that the benefits of the nightly activity was not just for exercise.

A dog’s take on a walk
Both dogs have very different opinions when it comes to walks. My dog Sandy sees it as a social activity. She likes to stroll along checking out the different scents that she encounters. When she detects one that interests her, she likes to backtrack and investigate it a little more, regardless if the pursuit of the scent drags her dad through bushes or deep into someone’s lawn. My roommate’s dog Max, on the other hand, tends to be very focused on the walking activity. Other than stopping to urinate at his usual spots he is all about getting exercise. His sister’s start-and-stop walking style clearly annoys him but occasionally he will join her and attempt to assist with her scent investigation.

Other dogs must be barked at, regardless of whether they are also out exercising with their pet parents or barking behind a secured fence or wall. Cats must be chased at all costs. Standing pools of water must be walked in. Any dog-less human encountered on a walk must be treated with suspicion; barking at such humans is always an appropriate reaction.

Second layer of canine activities
A second layer of canine activities happens on a walk. It’s fascinating to walk both dogs interact together as they jostle for the prime sniffing spot. Sometimes one yields to the other and other times the winner does so purely by brute force. On occasion they work together to attempt to trip their pet parent or tangle the leashes at the very least. Their continuous body language speaks volumes and it is fun to watch how they communicate with each other, and to me, as the walk progresses.

Brain downtime
During these walks I get some exercise, fresh air (at least as fresh as one can get while walking in a suburb), and some welcome brain downtime, and I return to my laptop refreshed and energized to continue working. For their part, the two dogs drink some water and then settle down for a nap; apparently dragging the human out of the house and around the neighborhood is tough work.

What is your experience with walking one more dogs simultaneously? Comment below and let me know.

ABOUT ME
I’m an Independent Brand Partner of Nerium™ International, I’m eliminating my wrinkles and fine lines effortlessly with NeriumAD, and you’ll always find great information about NeriumAD and Nerium™ International at my website: http://shywitness.arealbreakthrough.com

About Shy Witness™

My blog posts range from observations about current events to technology tips and the antics of my dog Sandy and her brother Morgan View all posts by Shy Witness™

3 responses to “Need a break? Walk a dog!

  • Marcela

    My experience walking more than one dog, so far, has been funny, interesting and rewarding to say the least. Funny, because every dog is different and while one has to go full speed, another prefers to smell the roses along the way, and I, as their mom, have to put order and get all of them on the same trail and speed. Interesting, because I found more areas to walk around my neighborhood since I don’t want to walk the same trail/street/area all the time. Rewarding, because I can see how much they enjoy our walk and once we get home and I brush them and clean them they are all out like a light for a couple of hours. I love walking with dogs, regardless of whether I am walking just my Alex, or more dogs.

    • Shy Witness™

      I used to be a nervous wreck when I first started walking both dogs at the same time until I got used to how they like to walk. One solution that I tried was one of those leash attachments that connects both dogs to one leash but it didn’t work too well because the standard poodle soon grew enough that the difference in their heights was becoming a problem. But I figure that as long as they both get enjoyment and exercise from our walks then it’s all worthwhile. And their nap time after a walk is always a good time for me to get stuff done.

      • Marcela

        Great. Yes, you have to figure out what is best for walking your dogs. Totally agree about the nap that follows the walk. That is when I get a lot of things done:) Keep on walking your dogs and enjoy it:)

