A dusk wedding

I hiked up the side of a mountain this afternoon to attend a friend’s wedding and learned a self lesson in remembering to trust myself.

 

The wedding location
Well, ok, so I didn’t exactly “hike” up the side of a mountain as much as drove up the winding road to the summit in a Dodge Ram 1500 truck, but that’s not important right now. The wedding took place at Dobbin’s Point on the top of South Mountain in Phoenix a little after 5pm as the sun was beginning to set in the distance. The two-lane road bends and twists in some unbelievable configurations and had to be shared with occasional bikers but, other than an occasional vehicle traveling in the opposite direction, the drive was enjoyable at 15-25mph.

The bride was radiant in white and the happy couple looked relaxed and very much in love as they shared their vows and exchanged rings. It was a beautiful setting and I felt honored to be in attendance.

 

Driving down the mountain
Driving back down the mountain was an interesting experience, especially given that the sun was now quite intent on setting. Although not quite on a par with the race against the setting sun scene at the conclusion of Francis Ford Coppola’s Dracula, it was an interesting experience navigating the twists and turns with two other vehicles in close proximity behind me and heavy traffic now beginning their ascent. My mind flashed back to a road trip that I took with 3 friends many years ago that involved driving through similar snow-covered roads along the Colorado/New Mexico border in late winter; I remember expressing concern at my driving abilities under such conditions and one of them said something along the lines of “trust yourself and you’ll get through it ok”.

 

Do you trust you?
That memory spoke values to me tonight. I’ve been driving for almost 22 years now and trust my judgments and instincts. I’ve driven in foreign countries, up and down mountains, and in many different weather conditions. So I rolled down the window, paid attention to the road, ignored the vehicles behind me, and made it home safely.

At the end of the day, when the going gets tough and the tough are nowhere to be found, it will always be you alone against the world and you need to know that you can trust yourself. Self-doubt is natural and acts as a valued check against blind self-confidence, but you have to trust yourself or you will be paralyzed and incapable of taking the next step.

Do you trust yourself? Comment below and let me know.

 

ABOUT ME
I’m an Independent Brand Partner of Nerium™ International, I’m eliminating my wrinkles and fine lines effortlessly with NeriumAD, and you’ll always find great information about NeriumAD and Nerium™ International at my website: http://shywitness.arealbreakthrough.com

About Shy Witness™

My blog posts range from observations about current events to technology tips and the antics of my dog Sandy and her brother Morgan View all posts by Shy Witness™

Comments are disabled.

