How I earned 30₵

I earned 30₵ quite unexpectedly yesterday from a coworker.

 

Hard boiled eggs
It all started a couple of months ago with a different co-worker. She had purchased some hard boiled eggs for breakfast one morning in the cafeteria at my full-time job and had paid something like 75₵ or 90₵ or something for each egg. Given that the average cost of a carton of 12 eggs at the grocery store can average between $1-2, the markup by the cafeteria on each egg is outrageous. I couldn’t keep my big mouth shut and expressed my opinion to her about how spending that much money on boiled eggs was crazy; I also suggested to her that I would boil eggs every morning and sell them to her for that kind of money. Luckily for me she has a great sense of humor and is willing to put up with me. 🙂

The egg incident was a running joke for a while, as you can imagine. I don’t think I fall into the miser category or anything, and I believe in the power of capitalism, but there’s marking up prices and there’s marking up prices.

 

You paid how much?
Fast-forward to earlier this week. Several of my coworkers and I were heading to lunch as a nearby favorite Thai restaurant and one of them mentioned that he was hungry despite having eaten breakfast earlier that morning. I asked what he had eaten and he listed the items that he had purchased. It wasn’t a lot of food and had cost him $5. I should know better but I opened my big mouth again and stated my opinion that he had paid way too much money for what he had gotten in return.

 

And then I made 30
He came by my cubicle yesterday morning and placed 30₵ on my desk, comprised of 1 quarter and 1 nickel. He said that it represented 10% of what he had paid for breakfast in the cafeteria that morning. So he saved $2 on breakfast and I made 30₵ unexpectedly.

Have you ever earned some cash by commenting on someone’s personal purchases that you considered excessive? Comment below and let me know.

 

ABOUT ME
I’m an Independent Brand Partner of Nerium™ International, I’m eliminating my wrinkles and fine lines effortlessly with NeriumAD, and you’ll always find great information about NeriumAD and Nerium™ International at my website: http://shywitness.arealbreakthrough.com

 

About Shy Witness™

My blog posts range from observations about current events to technology tips and the antics of my dog Sandy and her brother Morgan View all posts by Shy Witness™

Comments are disabled.

