A mundane task

In his book “The Slight Edge” Jeff Olson talks about the concept of mastering the mundane, namely becoming so good at performing the everyday tasks of your business that they essentially become second nature to you. I had a realization about that very concept this morning while cutting grass.

 

Cutting grass
One of my tasks for this weekend was to cut both lawns. The recent rain here in the Chandler area, followed by some beautiful sunny weather, caused a growth spurt and suddenly both lawns went from “I probably need to cut the grass sometime in the next few weeks” to “Yikes; I need to cut the grass this weekend without fail”. So at 9:30-ish this morning I was dragging the lawnmower onto the front lawn and powering it up. Given the potential threat of more rain I figured that it was late enough in the morning to not startle anyone sleeping and early enough that I was likely to get the task completed before any of the overhead clouds coalesced sufficiently to generate rainfall.

In the past I had a landscaper who managed the lawn maintenance tasks but about this time last year I decided that it was time for me to start doing it, in addition to being a money-saving move on my part. Up until then I had no experience of cutting grass. My dad always did that and I was always relegated to holing the garbage bag for the grass cuttings, assisting with cleaning the mower, and purchasing the gas for the mower. Much akin to always being a bridesmaid and never a bride, I spent years observing the process of mowing a lawn but never actually mowing a lawn myself.

 

Cutting grass is tough
I decided that my first attempt at mowing a lawn should happen in the back lawn; my two dogs are not that picky but my HOA (home owner’s association) is so I figured that it made far more sense to cut my teeth on cutting grass there than on the front lawn. As you can imagine my cut lines were not straight and I was constantly self-analyzing my performance. Was I pushing the mower too fast? Was I now mowing too slow? Was the mower cutting to an appropriate height? What was that weird sound? Did I just mow a missed piece of dried dog poop or the top of one of the sprinklers? By the time I had completed I was a nervous wreck! I practically needed a Xanax to be able to function sufficiently to conduct the repeat performance in the front yard.

 

Cutting grass is now mundane
I was practically finished mowing the back lawn this morning when I had the sudden realization that the task had somehow become mundane without my realizing it. Through repeating moving over the past year I had gotten better at maintaining straight cut lines, I had figured out how to gauge the cutting height, and had learned how to maneuver the mover around the two trees in the front lawn. I had even added a trimmer to boot. Through simple repetition I had mastered the task. The end results are unlikely to win me any grass-cutting competitions, but my front yard looks presentable and I enjoy the sense of accomplishment I experience when I am done.

If I was able to master grass cutting I should be able to master the task of talking to people about NeriumAD, handing out my business card, and conducting Real Results parties.

Have you mastered a mundane task ? Comment below and let me know.

 

ABOUT ME
I’m an Independent Brand Partner of Nerium™ International, I’m eliminating my wrinkles and fine lines effortlessly with NeriumAD, and you’ll always find great information about NeriumAD and Nerium™ International at my website: http://shywitness.arealbreakthrough.com

About Shy Witness™

My blog posts range from observations about current events to technology tips and the antics of my dog Sandy and her brother Morgan View all posts by Shy Witness™

Comments are disabled.

