Going (coco)nuts

My roommate purchased a carton of coconut milk recently and it sat unopened in the refrigerator for several days before I summoned the courage to crack the seal and try some. Now I’m hooked.

 

How it looks and tastes
The coconut milk didn’t look overly appetizing when I first poured it into a glass. Indeed, it looked kinda lumpy and thicker than I had anticipated and my initial reaction was to pour it back into the carton and call off the experiment. But then I decided that that required more effort and coordination than actually consuming the liquid so I raised the glass to my lips and took a hesitant sip.

I wasn’t sure exactly how I expected it to taste so I can’t say that it met, exceeded, or missed my expectations. As a lifelong milk drinker it didn’t much taste like cow milk (which shouldn’t come as a shock to anyone given that coconut milk comes from coconuts and not cows). It tasted bland, sweet, and coconutty simultaneously.  It didn’t taste overly cold despite being in the refrigerator. All in all it seemed a pleasant-tasting concoction and definitely worthy of another sip.

 

Coconut all the time
That was sometime last week. Since then I finished off the first carton of coconut an am making a decent dent in the second carton. I find that a glass of it in one sitting is sufficient; I can drink 2 glasses of milk in one sitting but I don’t see myself doing that with coconut milk anytime soon. At Costco I noticed packages of dried coconut so purchased one and am very pleasantly surprised how it tastes. A handful of dried coconut makes a wonderful snack. Suddenly I’m turning into a coconut freak.

Are you a coconut fan? Comment below and let me know.

 

About Shy Witness™

My blog posts range from observations about current events to technology tips and the antics of my dog Sandy and her brother Morgan View all posts by Shy Witness™

2 responses to “Going (coco)nuts

  • UltraSexy911

    My only real experience of coconut was from the Bounty bar.
    I’m not a Bounty bar fan so I avoid all products with coconut in them. That also goes for the coconut itself. I’m an avid milf drinker myself so I should give this coconut milk a try sometime soon.

    • Shy Witness™

      I think coconut is one of those fruits that you either like or dislike; there doesn’t seem to be much middle ground. Bounty bars are delicious though. If you have never tried coconut milk before you might want to look for a small serving so that if you don’t like it you won’t have wasted a lot of money on something you will just throw away. 🙂

