Vote with your feet

“Vote with your feet” is an expression that is basically another way of saying “actions speak louder than words”. However, I recently say it written in way that resonated with me.

 

Law of two feet
The paragraph consisted of one long sentence, and it  read “We were governed by the law of two feet: which means if you find yourself in a place where you are not learning or contributing, use your two feet to move to someplace where you can learn or contribute.”

 

Why it resonated
The paragraph resonated with me because it was a great reminder that the responsibility for my actions rests solely on me. At times it can be easy to stay where you are neither learning nor contributing because it was once the best position for you to be at, you spend a lot of time and effort to get there, and because you are in denial about how the position is no longer of value. It can be disheartening to once again look for another position that will afford you opportunities to either learn something new or contribute some of the knowledge that you have gathered. And yet to stay where you are is also demoralizing in itself. So I’ve decided to concentrate on incorporating the law of two feet more in my life and look for instances where I am not learning or contributing.

Does the law of two feet resonate with you? Comment below and let me know.

 

About Shy Witness™

My blog posts range from observations about current events to technology tips and the antics of my dog Sandy and her brother Morgan View all posts by Shy Witness™

Comments are disabled.

