Pulling weeds (part 2)

On Tuesday I introduced you to my recent weed-pulling activity on a portion of my residential property and suggested that there was a correlation between weed extraction/elimination practices and techniques for approaching potential prospects about a business opportunity. In this blog post I will explain that correlation.

 

How I pulled the weeds
My manual weed-pulling activity was slow and required methodical skills but it was deeply satisfying. My extraction technique was deliberate and careful to disturb as little of the surrounding dirt as possible. Each weed extraction was performed on a 1:1 basis. My activities also uncovered discarded garbage elements so I took the opportunity to deposit those items in my plastic bag. By the time I decided that I had finished the task I had a bagful of weeds and a strip of property that looked far better than it had earlier.

Spraying the area with a weed killer product would have achieved similar results but at a far higher long-term cost. The drenched weeds would have remained evident for some time as they slowly succumbed to the toxic chemical bath, shriveled, and died. I have no desire to see such a scene each time I pick up my mail and I’m confident that my neighbors would prefer not to either. Ants residing in the dirt would also have been drenched with the toxic rain and any local birds consuming those ants would have further become contaminated.

 

Weeding potential prospects
Approaching potential prospects about a business opportunity is a little like weeding. Weeding involves identifying a weed and targeting it for attention; approaching potential prospects utilizes similar processes. Depending upon the size and form of the weed it will yield easily or require gloves due its thorny leaves; some potential prospects will be open to the approach and willing to listen while others will require a more delicate approach. Some weeds break away easily but leave their roots embedded deep within the ground; some potential prospects will seem to engage with you on a surface level but in truth are uninterested in the opportunity and difficult to engage with following the initial contact. Fire hosing as many potential prospects as you encounter is just like spraying weed killer – the long-term damage it does is not worth the short-term gain.

 

About Shy Witness™

My blog posts range from observations about current events to technology tips and the antics of my dog Sandy and her brother Morgan View all posts by Shy Witness™

Comments are disabled.

