Puppy Mission Rescue

We frequently hear stories about how our returning soldiers often struggle with post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and yet very little (if anything) on the small things in life that mean so much to these brave men and women. So when I saw a story today about The Puppy Mission Rescue I knew I needed to blog about it.

 

Two dogs
My dog is a 3-year old Golden Retriever/Yellow Labrador mix female named Sandy and my roommate’s dog is a 2 year old Standard Poodle male named Max. They both sleep in my bedroom at night; Sandy typically lies on my bed for a few minutes before settling on the floor where she prefers to sleep while Max has taken over the right side of my bed and moves around throughout the night. The other night I walked into my bedroom and he was already settled on my bed with a toy between his paws. I wish I had taken a picture of his because he looked so adorable.

I don’t speak dog, and neither of them speaks English, and yet we communicate with each other constantly and in real time. We play with each other, we enjoy nighttime walks together, we play jokes on each other, and we sit close to each other or position ourselves so that there is physical contact between us. Regardless of how crazy or stressful life is I always know  Sandy and Max have my back.

Now imagine that you suffer from PTSD and the only one that can reach you and anchor you is a stray dog that you befriended on a remote military base in a dusty foreign country. Imagine finishing your tour of duty and heading home but having to leave the dog behind to face an unknown future and potential death. If you are a dog lover then you already understand where this is going. If you’re not, spend some time reading the stories and testimonials on The Puppy Mission Rescue website and you will.

 

About Shy Witness™

My blog posts range from observations about current events to technology tips and the antics of my dog Sandy and her brother Morgan View all posts by Shy Witness™

Comments are disabled.

