Welcome Morgan

This blog post is one that I knew would be difficult to write, but I needed to write it regardless. And indeed this blog post is what inspired me to start blogging again after such a long absence from the blogosphere.

So now, ladies and gentlemen, please give a warm welcome to Morgan, the new dog in the house.

Image

Morgan is actually my roommate’s dog, not mine. He’s a standard Poodle, chocolate brown in color, somewhere between 2.5 and 3.5 years old, and is very puppy-like in mentality. He came to us shy, immature, untrained, socially awkward, hesitant of people, and generally afraid of any human contact that occurred anywhere lower than the top of his head. His hair was cut short and he was smaller in stature than he should be. He was extremely thin, but thankfully his ribs did not protrude because, honestly, that would have been too much to bear.

Morgan is a former puppy mill rescue.

He was one of 27 dogs that were rescued from a puppy mill in either Oklahoma or Missouri by the National Mill Dog Rescue and send to the Arizona Animal Welfare League (AAWL) in Phoenix in early October to be adopted. While at the AAWL he received the name Morganstern. My roommate was watching TV that morning before heading to work and caught the heartbreaking news report. As he watched, a chocolate-colored standard Poodle was shown being carried into the AAWL facility by a volunteer. Later in the news story the dog appeared again, this time standing forlorn on the sidelines as the other rescued dogs ran around and tasted freedom for the first time. He looked lost, confused, in pain, and desperately in need of reassurance.

I freely admit that I was initially opposed to the idea of a third dog in the house; two dogs can be a handful at the best of times and the articles that I read about the difficulties of normalizing a former puppy mill dog were disheartening at best. And yet, on this Thanksgiving Eve, I am so thankful that I opened my mind to the possibility. My roommate signed the adoption papers the night of October 23 and became Morganstern’s Morgan’s forever dad.

Fast-forward five short weeks and Morgan is a changed dog. He looks to his new brother and sister for direction and guidance and they provide it in abundance, teaching him how to use the dog door, how to live in a house with humans, how to differentiate between sounds, and how to play. He still has much to learn but he has mastered so much already. As I write this he is sleeping in his brother’s dog bed, his sister asleep on the floor close by. He looks so comfortable curled up in the bed; I’d take a photograph but it would be unfair to disturb him.

He is safe, he is loved, and he made it home for the holidays.

 

About Shy Witness™

My blog posts range from observations about current events to technology tips and the antics of my dog Sandy and her brother Morgan View all posts by Shy Witness™

Comments are disabled.

