Stability

A couple of years ago, I read an interesting article that suggested selecting a single word to focus on for the New Year versus setting several “New Year Resolutions” that most of us fail to maintain anyway within a very short time of adopting them. In response to the article, I decided to select a focus word for 2015, and it was an enjoyable experience so, for 2016, I decided to repeat the experiment and chose the word “change” as my focus word for the year.

Talk about being careful about what you ask for because it just might come true – 2016 proved to be a “year of upheavals” and threw so many unexpected changes at me that, at times, life became almost unbearable.

Any cycle of upheavals and changes eventually ends, and I’m hopeful that the transition point between 2016 and 2017 signaled the end for me so, for 2017, I have chosen the word “stability” as my focus word for the year. I hope I have chosen wisely.

Shortly after ringing in the New Year, I found myself lying in bed petting Sandy with my left hand, petting Morgan with my right hand, and enjoying how Ricky had positioned himself so that he was pressed firmly against the top of my head (when one interacts with three dogs simultaneously but has only two hands, one must get creative). Safely in a pen at the foot of my bed was Coco, my new foster (foster #7). As a dog dad, dog uncle, and dog foster dad, it was the absolute best way to experience the first minutes of the New Year.

Happy New Year 2017!

About Shy Witness™

My blog posts range from observations about current events to technology tips and the antics of my dog Sandy and her brother Morgan View all posts by Shy Witness™

Comments are disabled.

