Dog’s dinner

While preparing dinner for the four dogs this evening, I found myself pondering how the expression “dog’s dinner” is often used to describe something that is a disordered mess, and how the expression did not apply in any way to the dog dinners that I was busily assembling. Indeed, dog meals have gotten so complicated at this point that I likely need to write a job aid on how to assemble each one.

Not only does each of the four meals consist of different ingredients and supplements, but there are also subtle differences between what comprises each dog’s breakfast and dinner. In addition, Coco (my current foster) eats best when isolated in my bedroom, so my bedroom has now become his own private dining space. He barks for me when he is ready for me to check on his progress.

In contrast, my breakfast is typically a bowl of cold cereal accompanied by coffee, while dinner is likely something randomly inserted into a French roll and washed down with a can of soda.

Perhaps I should next ponder the expression “gone to the dogs”…

About Shy Witness™

My blog posts range from observations about current events to technology tips and the antics of my dog Sandy and her brother Morgan View all posts by Shy Witness™

Comments are disabled.

